Head’s up — MassLegalHelp is getting a new look!

At the beginning of March, we will be relaunching this website with a brand-new look. You may notice some things moved around, but our main content will stay the same. We hope the improved design will make it easier to find what you are looking for.

 

Are there work rules for SNAP?

Produced by Massachusetts Law Reform Institute
Reviewed June 2023

Any member of your household who is over 16 and under 60 years old – and not exempt – must register for work during the SNAP application process, this happens when you sign the application.106 C.M.R. § 362.310. SNAP work registration rules are different from the ABAWD time limit rules.

The SNAP ABAWD 3-month time limit is not in effect in Massachusetts at this time. The "voluntary quit" rules, however, are in effect. See What is considered a “good cause” reason if I quit my job? Check MassLegalServices.org/DTA-COVID-19 for updates. 

If you are between 16 and 59 years old, unless you are exempt, you agree when you sign the SNAP application that while you are getting SNAP:

  • You will not quit a job where you are working 30 hours a week or more unless you have a good reason (“good cause”). 
  • If you are working 30 hours or more, you will not reduce your hours to less than 30 hours a week unless you have a good reason.
  • If you are offered a job, you must accept it unless you have a good reason to refuse. See What is considered a “good cause” reason if I quit my job?

Exemptions from voluntary quit

The SNAP rules provide key exemptions from these rules. 106 C.M.R. §362.310(B). These exemptions are relevant if DTA thinks you voluntarily quite while you are on SNAP or when you are applying (see What happens if I quit a job shortly before applying for SNAP?) or reduced your hours, or if you are on strike (see What are the rules if I am on strike?). See What is considered a “good cause” reason if I quit my job?

The exemptions include if you:

  • receive TAFDC or EAEDC benefits
  • are pregnant (in your third trimester or later)
  • are physically or mentally unfit for employment
  • earn more than $217.50 per week (federal minimum wage x 30)
  • are a student enrolled in school at least half-time
  • have applied for or get Unemployment Benefits
  • care for a child under age 6 or a person with a disability (this person does not need to live with you)
  • are in a substance abuse treatment program

The voluntary quit rules while getting SNAP

If you are not exempt and you voluntarily quit a job without good cause after the date you applied for SNAP benefits, you are ineligible for three months but the rest of your household is still eligible. 106 C.M.R §367.800(E)(2) & (F)

Penalties increase for a second and third quit – to 6 months of ineligibility and 12 months, respectively. On the first quit, if you are the “head of household,” your whole household is ineligible for 3 months. On the second and third quit, if you are the head of household your whole household is ineligible for 6 months.

DTA voluntary quit punishments may be more severe than is allowed under the federal SNAP rules. Contact MLRI at [email protected] if your SNAP is denied or stopped due to voluntary quit.

DTA Online Guide: See Appendix G for links to the DTA’s BEACON 5 Online Guide for this section.

 

Find Legal Aid

You may be able to get free legal help from your local legal aid program. Or email a question about your own legal problem to a lawyer.

Ask a Law Librarian

If it's
Monday-Friday
between
9am - 12pm and 1pm - 4pm