You are here

Head’s up — MassLegalHelp is getting a new look!

At the beginning of March, we will be relaunching this website with a brand-new look. You may notice some things moved around, but our main content will stay the same. We hope the improved design will make it easier to find what you are looking for.

 

Do I have to pay the landlord’s lawyer’s fees?

Produced by Massachusetts Law Reform Institute with assistance from legal services offices in Massachusetts
Created May 2017

Do I have to pay the landlord’s costs for bringing the case?

If you lose your case, the judge will order you to pay:

  • $135 in Housing Court or $195 in District Court to repay the landlord the filing fee for the case and
  • $35-$65 to repay the landlord for the fee to a sheriff or constable for serving the summons.

Your landlord probably has the right to ask you to pay these costs. But if you negotiate an agreement you can ask the landlord to give up orwaive these costs.

 

Find Legal Aid

You may be able to get free legal help from your local legal aid program. Or email a question about your own legal problem to a lawyer.

Get Negotiating a Settlement (Booklet 10)

Ask a Law Librarian

If it's
Monday-Friday
between
9am - 12pm and 1pm - 4pm